where will i be in 5-10-15 years?


Ever since the emergence of insurgency in Nepal, every year thousands of Nepalese are internally displaced and forced to search for a better living environment in other nations as Asylees. Every year hundreds of Nepalese seek asylum on political ground, in the United States. In 2004, 40% of Nepalese asylum applicants have succeeded in receiving an asylee status. Among them, majority have settled in the east coast due to the presence of a native lawyer. However, in California they do not have a native lawyer to speak to and depend upon and most of the time they are denied of asylum due to error in proper translation and misrepresentation. This shows immense potentiality for a Nepali lawyer to initiate legal practice for the sake of ever growing Nepalese community in the west coast. I foresee myself as a successful Nepalese lawyer for my Nepalese community as well as for my fellow south Asians in the coming years.
            In the past few years, very few Nepali law students have come to United States to pursue higher education in law and only a couple of them have started to practice. Probably because of the dense Nepalese population in the east coast, nearly all of them have focused their law practice there with some exceptions in other states. However, I am unaware of a Nepali lawyer in the west coast especially California. Five years from now, I see myself as probably the first Nepali lawyer in California to serve my ever-growing Nepalese community as well as the South Asian neighbors.
Professionally, I am fascinated by the complex yet convenient American Legal System. Therefore in the next 10-15 years, apart from gaining a personal expertise, I also see myself associated with development of Nepalese legal system as per global standards and also as a successful transnational lawyer. I also see myself as a member of the Judiciary in Nepal or a Lawmaker.

Leave a Reply

