GREEN CARD FILING OPENS AGAIN ?


PLEASE KEEP YOURSELF INFORMED. INFORMATION REGARDING GC PROCESSING WILL BE GRADUALLY UPDATED HERE.

[HLG has confirmed that the CIS is not returning I-485 Applications back to those who filed I-485 during the first week of July. This is leading many to speculate that the CIS may reverse course and re-re-amend the July Visa Bulletin; whether the Visa Bulletin actually reopens remains to be seen. HLG normally refrains from commenting on rumors, but we have talked to several Washington insiders and believe that this is seriously being considered. Source: http://hammondlawgroup.blogspot.com%5D
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) has issued instructions for filing Forms I-140 and I-485 directly at the service center that will process the forms. The instructions also address filing locations for Form I-907 requests for premium processing of the immigrant petition and applications for ancillary benefits related to the applications for adjustment of status (Form I-131 Applications for Travel Documents and Form I-765 Applications for Employment Authorization), as well as Forms I-129F (Petition for Alien Fiancé(e)) and I-360 (Petition for Amerasian, Widow(er), or Special Immigrant). The USCIS press release announcing the new filing locations, with links to direct filing charts for each form, is available at

http://www.uscis.gov/files/pressrelease/UpdateDirectFiling062107.pdf.

GRACE PERIOD THROUGH AUGUST 28

Effective July 30, 2007, these forms must be filed directly at the service center that will process the filings. USCIS will provide for a grace period through August 28 that allows cases to be filed in accordance with current procedures, but beginning August 29, 2007, cases that are not submitted to the correct filing location will be rejected and returned.

FILING LOCATIONS FOR FORMS I-140, I-485 AND RELATED FORMS

Forms I-140, I-485 and related forms I-907, I-765 and I-131 will be filed at either the Nebraska Service Center or the Texas Service Center. The filing locations are determined geographically based on the place of employment (for Forms I-140 and accompanying Forms I-907) or place of residence (for Forms I-485 and accompanying Forms I-765 and I-131).

The Nebraska Service Center will have jurisdiction over the following states:

Alaska
Arizona
California
Colorado
Guam
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
North Dakota
Ohio
Oregon
South Dakota
Utah
Washington
Wisconsin
Wyoming

The Texas Service Center will have jurisdiction over the following states:

Alabama
Arkansas
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Mississippi
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
Oklahoma
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island
South Carolina
Tennessee
Texas
Vermont
Virginia
Virgin Islands (U.S.)
West Virginia

